Back in Action

“Mens sana in corpore sano” Healthy body, healthy mind.
It’s just fantastic to see the playing fields full once again and the students returning to class invigorated after an active lunch break.

The U15 football panel have certainly made their mark as they were the first to resume matches. They have two impressive victories over Gaelcholaiste Luimnigh and Glenstal already under their belts. Exciting times ahead !

1st Year Hurling

Well done to our first year hurlers who took to Mick Neville Park last week. Leaving nothing behind them they recorded three out of three victories over Tralee, Rathkeale and Glanmire to bring the Munster Shield home to Hazelwood. Captain Ethan Buckley is pictured receiving the shield

Magnificent March in Munster Championship

Hazelwood Hurlers Magnificent March in Munster Championship

Hazelwood College 8-18
CBS Tramore 4-10


Hazelwood College’s Under 16½ hurlers got their U16½ Munster Championship campaign off to a winning start with a comprehensive victory over CBS Tramore recently. Hazelwood started well with a Stephen Coughlan goal, with points from Colin O’Brien, Luke Ryan, Dylan Hayes Daly and Damien Burke. Midway through the first half, Tramore settled, racking up several points and a goal. This was met with a sustained Hazelwood fight back, capped off before half time with a goal each by Coughlan and Hayes Daly, leaving the half-time score at 3-10 to 1-5.
After the restart, Hazelwood goals from Cian Magner Flynn and Dean Collins, with points supplied by Brian Buckley, opened a gap between the teams which Tramore were unable to bridge, despite their valiant efforts. Hazelwood College emerged with a commanding lead of 8-18 to 4-10.

Pictured are (back row, left to right) Mr Ronan Farrell (coach), Evan O’Flynn, Olan Collins, Dean O’Brien, Maurice Fitzgibbon, Brian Buckley, Dean Collins, Cian Magner Flynn, Luke Ryan, Stephan Coughlan, James McDermott, Cillian Shine, Dan Noonan, Jonathan Sheehan, Chris Hartnett and Darragh Stack. Front row (left to right) Darragh Lane, Micheál Begley, Micheál Ryan, Shane Ryan, Liam McDermott, Jack Sheehan, Colin O’Brien, Damien Burke, Dylan Hayes Daly, Oisín Brennan, Evan Murphy and Brian Murphy. Missing from picture is Mr Matt Finn (coach).