Back in Action

“Mens sana in corpore sano” Healthy body, healthy mind.
It’s just fantastic to see the playing fields full once again and the students returning to class invigorated after an active lunch break.

The U15 football panel have certainly made their mark as they were the first to resume matches. They have two impressive victories over Gaelcholaiste Luimnigh and Glenstal already under their belts. Exciting times ahead !

Comprehensive Victory in Colleges Championship

Hazelwood College Comprehensive Victory in Colleges Championship

Hazelwood College took on St. Mary’s Newport Under 16 ½ boys last recently. In the first half Hazelwood made the most of the strong wind at their backs. The conditions encouraged the mid-fielders, Sean Kelly and Colin O’ Brien, forward, where they scored 7 points between them. This, combined with a wonderful display by Evan O’ Flynn, had a great first half scoring 1:6, saw Hazelwood take a commanding lead. In the first half Hazelwood were awarded three frees, with Colin O’ Brien putting over all three.

Despite being 3:11 ahead at half time, Hazelwood knew that Newport would have the benefit of a strong wind in the second half. Hazelwood College were thrown on the defensive immediately after the restart as a defiant Newport attempted to cut Hazelwood’s lead. Despite this early onslaught, Hazelwood were able to counterattack and Hazelwood’s Evan O` Flynn and Jamie O` Connor both scored a goal, with Sean Kelly scoring two points. Ultimately were able to maintain their comprehensive lead, despite the St Mary’s attack, to win on the score of Hazelwood College 5:18 St Mary’s Newport 2:18.


Hazelwood College Under 16 1/2 Limerick Colleges’ Championship hurling team, who recently defeated St Mary’s Newport to pregress to the enxt stage of the competition. Pictured are back row (left to right) Muiris O Keefe , Michael Quinn , Brian Stack , Alan O’Leary , Colin O Brien, Sean Kelly, Ronan O’Keefe , Evan O’Flynn , Dean O’Brien , Tommie Carroll, James Molyneaux , Johnathan Sheehan, Darragh Lane and Aaron Shanahan. Front Row (left to right) Billy Ryan, Jack Willis, William Boyce, Michael Barrett, Colm Ryan , Eoin Finn, Michael O’Callaghan , Oisin Brennan, Cillian Shine, Fergal Lane, Aaron Buckley, Colm Galvin, Michael Ryan, and Jamie O’Connor