CPR 4 Schools

Hazelwood College recently hosted a CPR trainging day for Munster Schools.

CPR 4 schools enables teachers to go and train the entire school community in CPR. Hazelwood College organised for over 20 schools around Munster to take part in this initiative recently.

CPR 4 Schools is something particularly important to the students and staff of Hazelwood College. To find out why …Click Here…

Here are some photos from the day.

Awards Day

Friday 18th May was the date set for our annual awards ceremony where achievements from all aspects of school life were acknowledged and rewarded. This year we were honoured that Anna Geary came to present the awards. Anna was a wonderful speakers and an inspirational role model to our students. Congratulations to all who received awards.

Here is a small selection of photos from the day. To see the full set visit Hazelwood College on Facebook

Calendar 2018 – 2019


August

Tuesday 28th August:     1st years from 9:00 to 1:00

Wednesday 29th August:     3rd, 6th and LCA 2 Return

Thursday 30th August:     Remaining students return

Friday 31st August:     Viewing of Leaving Certificate Scripts


September

Saturday 1st September:     Viewing of Leaving Certificate Scripts

Wednesday 12th September:     Junior Certificate results

Monday 17th September:     1st years to Capanalea


October

Tuesday 9th October:     Celebrating Us

Tuesday 16th October:     Open Morning

Wednesday 17th October:     Open Night

Tuesday 23rd October:     School tour to Prague & Krakow until 27th October

Thursday 25th October:     Parent / Teacher meeting 6th years and LCA 2. No Homework Club or Study

Friday 26th October:     Start of Mid-term break.


November

Monday 5th November:     Return after midterm

Tuesday 6th November:     5th and LCA 1 Parent / Teacher meeting.  Classes finish at 3:45. P/T Meeting from 4:15 to 6:45 No Homework Club or Study

Friday 9th November:     Final date for enrolling 1st years for September 2018

Thursday 15th November:     Staff meeting No Homework Club or Study

Wednesday 21st November:     2nd year & TY 1 Parent / Teacher meeting No Homework Club or Study

Friday 30th November:     DATS tests for 3rd years


December

Monday 3rd December:     3rd year Parent / Teacher meeting No Homework club or Study

Tuesday 18th December:     Start of house examinations

Friday 21st December:     Christmas holidays


January

Monday 7th January:     Return after Christmas holidays

Friday 11th January:     In-service Junior Certificate for all staff. School closed.

Tuesday 15th January:     First year & TY 2 Parent / Teacher meeting No Homework Club or Study

Wednesday 23rd January:      Course options evening 3rd and TY

Saturday 26th January:     Assessment for incoming first years


February

Tuesday 5th February:     Start of pre-leaving examinations

Tuesday 12th February:     Start of LCA pre examinations

Friday 15th February:     Mid-term break

Monday 25th February:     Return after mid-term break

Thursday 28th February:      Final date for repeat applications


March

Wednesday 6th March:     UL Business Awards

Wednesday 13th March:     Staff meeting No Homework Club or Study

Monday 18th March:     Bank holiday

Wednesday 20th March:     6th and LCA 2 Parent / Teacher meeting No Homework Club or Study


April

Friday 12th April:     Easter Holidays

Monday 29th April:     Return after Easter holiday


May

Monday 6th May:     Bank holiday school closed

Wednesday 8th May:     Meeting of parents of incoming 1st years

Tuesday 14th May:     Staff meeting No Homework Club or Study

Tuesday 28th May:     Start of summer tests

Friday 31st May:     Summer holidays


June

Wednesday 5th June:     Start of state examinations


The management reserve the right to alter the calendar at any time. Please check this website for amendments to the calendar.

*** Denotes Change/Addition to Timetable from original publication

Choir News

Hazelwood Choir who came third in the senior choir competition in Middleton recently.

Hazelwood Choir who came third in the senior choir competition in Middleton yesterday.

Posted by Hazelwood College Dromcollogher on Saturday, 12 May 2018

Parkrun

Join us for a Park Run!!!!

Everyone Welcome !

Thanks to Denis Fitzgerald and Ruth O’Mahony from Parkrun Newcastle West who came to talk about volunteering and parkrun to the 5th LCVP class. These students are volunteering in Newcastle West on Saturday 19th May. Runners, joggers, walkers are all welcome.

Reminder – Variety Show Tonight

Rehearsals are continuing today for tonight’s Annual Variety Show. In keeping with years break from tradition, shows this year are full performances rather that the 50/50 variety show/musical mix of the past.

Here is a quick sneak peak:

 

Hazelwood College

Presents

Annual Variety Show

Tickets on the door

11th May 2018

Time: 7.30 p.m.

€10 Adult €5 Student/OAP