G.A.A. News

Hazelwood College student Jamie O’Connor is pictured being congratulated by his Hazelwood College coach Mr Danny Sheahan (left) and Hazelwood College Head of Sport, Mr Conor Murphy (right) after he was part of the County Cork U14 team that recently won the U14 All-Ireland Hurling Final. Jamie is pictured with his All-Ireland medal.


Hazelwood College student Colin O’Brien is pictured being congratulated by his Hazelwood College Mr Matt Finn after he was part of the Cork U16 team that recently won the U16 All-Ireland Final.


China Visit

China Visit

Hazelwood College Transition Year students (from left) Emma Stone, Laura Stack and Keith Coughlan are congratulated by Maria Cremin, fifth year (far right) after they secured their places on a life changing trip to China. The trio won their places through their Chinese Studies module of TYP, in conjunction with the Confucius Institute of University College Cork. Maria Cremin was last year’s lucky winner and her wonderful experiences encouraged this years TYP students to attempt to emulate her success.

china visit

Hazelwood Crowned Cork Camogie Champions

Hazelwood Crowned Cork Camogie Champions

Hazelwood 7-10
Bandon 1-05

On 4th December 2014, the Hazelwood Senior Camogie team came out on top in a tough battle with Coláiste na Toirbhirte, Bandon, securing the Cork Colleges Senior Camogie Championship. The match was played in Dromcollogher, with Hazelwood holding the advantage on home turf.

From the whistle, it was clear that both teams had similar intensions, and it took 6 minutes for the first score to be registered on the board. Ellanna Mulcahy won a loose ball and fired over the bar to put the home team in the lead. Points from Mary Kate Fehin and two from Cliona O’Callaghan put Hazelwood further in the lead. Bandon forwards were restricted to three points in the first half, due to consistent defending from the Hazelwood backs. The first half was a physical battle between the sides, and the game was score for score until, after a good passage of play between the Hazelwood midfielders and half forwards, corner forward Áine Cunningham received an accurate pass and finished a low shot to the net, giving the home side a four point lead at the interval. The half time score read 1-04 to 0-03.

Hazelwood started the better side in the second half, and began to dominate all over the field. Cliona O’Callaghan put the ball in the net in the opening 5 minutes of the second half, followed by goals from Áine Cunningham and Donna Mulcahy. Despite defensive mistakes that were the cause of conceding scores, Bandon continued to fight but failed to convert all of their chances, scoring just two points in the third quarter. With Hazelwood ahead entering the final quarter of the game, they pushed on with further goals from Donna Mulcahy and Áine Cunningham and points from Cliona O’Callaghan and Mary Kate Fehin. Team captain, Donna Mulcahy, leading by example, added a point to her tally, before Áine Cunningham handled a high ball in the square and palmed to the net. Deserving player of the match, Áine Cunningham added a point to her name before finishing as the day’s top scorer with 4-01 with a fine display of goal scoring ability. Bandon got a consolation goal towards the end, put it was too little too late for the gallant South Cork side, who, to their credit never gave up until the final whistle. Strong midfield pairing Chloe O’Brien and Ellanna Mulcahy scored a point each after making runs from the centre of the pitch to close out the game, the scoreboard reading 7-10 to 1-05 in favour of Hazelwood at the final whistle.
Referee Mike Sheehan presented the cup to Hazelwood captain Donna Mulcahy on behalf of her teammates. This was a well deserved win for the Hazelwood Senior Camogie team, and hopefully will not be the last of the year ahead for this talented group of players.


Hazelwood College’s Senior Camogie team, who recently secured the Cork Colleges’ Senior Camogie Championship. Back row (left to right) Aoife McMahon, Laura Stack, Nicola Madden, Bríd Flanagan, Mary Kate Fehin, Laura O’Connell, Kasey Farrell, Aisling Cunningham, Briana O’Connor, Cliona O’Callaghan, Aoife Murray, Áine Fitzgibbon, Megan Fitzgibbon, Rebecca Duggan, Ms Bernie Walsh and Brendan O’Connor. Front Row (left to right) Orlaith Hennessy, Abby McDermott, Aisling Enright, Emma O’Callaghan, Sarah Shanahan, Áine Cunningham, Donna Mulcahy, Ellannah Mulcahy, Emily Rose Mulcahy, Chloe O’Brien, Tara Fitzgibbon and Katie Carroll.