Victory over Desmond College U16.5 Hurling

Hazelwood College’s Under 16 ½ Hurling Limerick Colleges Competition team pictured after their comprehensive 5-19 to 1-8 victory over Desmond College in the latest round of the competition. Pictured back row (left to right): Billy Ryan, Michael Quinn, Eoin Finn, Darragh Stack, James Molyneaux, Cillian Shine, Colin O’Brien, Evan O’Flynn, Dean O’Brien, Michael Barrett, Colm Galvin, Alan O’Leary, Michael Ryan and Muiris O’Keefe. Front row (left to right) Aaron Buckley, Brian Stack, Christopher Cotter, William Boyce, Jack Willis, Oisín Brennan, Jonathan Sheehan, Darragh Lane, Ben O’Connor and Seán Kelly.

u16 hurling

Hazelwood qualify for Semi-Final of Limerick Colleges

Hazelwood qualify for Semi-Final of Limerick Colleges

Hazelwood College 5-11
Colaiste Ioseaf Kilmallock 0-01

Hazelwood College first year hurlers recorded back to back wins against St. Munchins College and Kilmallock this month, securing a successful start to the County Limerick First Year Colleges’ Competition. Hazelwood benefited from the accurate free taking of Michael Barrett on both matches, while the defence, led by Jack Walsh did very well clearing each and every attack from the Kilmallock players. The tight, competitive marking of the Hazelwood defenders really provided the platform for success, leading to scores from Jamie O’ Connor who scored 2-3 on the day. Hazelwood went through a purple patch midway through the second half meaning the match was over as a contest. Owen Finn wasn’t really tested in goals but did come to the rescue when Colaiste Ioseaf were awarded a close in free with 10 minutes to go. Other with very impressive displays on the day were James Molyneaux, Ben O’ Connor and Josh Moran.

Panel: Eoin Finn (Newtownshandrum), Kieran O’ Flynn (St. Kevin’s), Jack Walsh (St. Marks, Capt.), Fergal Lane (Killeedy), Michael O’ Callaghan (St. Mark’s), James Molyneaux (Drom/Broadford), Billy Ryan (Newtownshandrum), Ben O’ Connor (Newtownshandrum), Michael Barrett (Drom/Broadford), Brian Stack (Drom/Broadford), Jamie O’ Connor (St.Kevins), Colm Ryan (Feenagh/Kilmeedy), Josh Moran (Drom/Broadford), John Hennessy (Killeedy), Brian Ahern (Drom/Broadford), Conor Falvey (Drom/Broadford), David Condon (Feohanagh/Castlemahon), Sean Broderick (St. Mark’s), Connor Davy (Feohanagh/Castlemahon), Michael Quinn (Newtownshandrum), James Patrick Ryan (Deel Rangers), Conor Stack (Feohanagh /Castlemahon), Jack Harding, Daniel Cunningham (Killeedy)