Hazelwood First Year Hurlers’ Heroics

By Oisin Brennan – Transition Year

Hazelwood College: 3-12
Crescent College Comprehensive: 2-04

Hazelwood College first year hurling team came out on top in this County Limerick First Year Colleges’ Competition encounter with Crescent College Comprehensive. Hazelwood dominated the entire game, except for brief spells of Crescent determination to impose themselves on the match were made.

In the first half Hazelwood came out strong and were 0-07 points to no score after fifteen minutes. David Boyce scored three of these without reply from the Crescent College Comprehensive. Crescent eventually scored two points and looked to eat into the lead. Hazelwood regrouped, putting the Crescent goal under constant threat, only to be met with a determined defence. A goal finally came after an Owen Hayes shot was well saved, but Ronan O’Connor slotted home the rebound. Hazelwood put up another two points before the half ended. Towards the close of the first half David Boyce was replaced by Tim Sheerin. Half-time arrived with Hazelwood 1-09 to Crescent’s 0-02 ahead.

A confident Hazelwood side started the second half firmly intending to maintain their dominance. It was Sheerin who scored the second goal for Hazelwood as they increased the pressure on Crescent in the early stages of the second-half. Another goal and three points were scored before tiredness began to show and Crescent began to have opportunities. Crescent’s impressive fightback saw them pick off 1-1 from frees and another 1-1 from play in the last quarter of the game, showing an impressive spirit. Thanks to a solid performance from Hazelwood College, they can now go to the next stage of the competition.


Hazelwood College First Year County Limerick Colleges’ Competition team which was victorious in their recent match against Crescent College Comprehensive. Pictured are (back row, left to right) Jason Cullhane, Eoin Galvin, Cian White, Ben Mulcahy, Sean Madden, Eoin Enright, Killian Cahill, Eoghan Dore, Euan Collins, Shane Dillon, Cathal Broderick, David Galvin, Cian Donegan, George Fitzgibbon, Jordan Kirwan, Ruain Hannigan, Owen Hayes and Adam Whelan. Front row (left to right): Conor Shanahan, Tristen Shearin, Shane Hartnett, Daniel O’Connor, David Boyce, TJ Kelly, Sean O’Connor, Ronan O’Connor, Dylan Murray, Jamie Hennessy, David Noonan, Jack Long and Graham Roche.